Share drawing with others
Vecta has several ways you can peruse to share a drawing. You can find basic explanations on drawing permissions and ways to access the Share dialog in this article.
Share with emails
You can share a drawing through email invitation by using the Share dialog. This dialog can only be seen by Vecta users who have access to the drawing with Owner or Edit and share permission.
Choose the drawing permission you wish for the invited user to have through the dropdown on the right of the email input. It is not mandatory, but a personal message can be added to the invitation as well. Once you are satisfied, click on Invite.
An email, as well as a Vecta notification will then be sent out. Both contain the same invitation link the invited should open before they can access the drawing. Each invitation link sent out is unique and valid only for the intended recipient. The link requires the invited to be logged in as a Vecta user to verify their identity.
Use the email invitation method to share your drawing if you want the following to happen;
- Once the invitation is accepted, the user's name, email and permission in the drawing will appear on the Who has access dialog. You can change their drawing permission as well in the same dialog.
- The invited Vecta user will have the drawing shown on their dashboard, so they can access it at anytime.
You can view active invitation links sent by you in Who has access dialog. You can copy the invitation links here, or deactivate the links instead. Deactivated links can no longer be used, so you will need to send out email invitations again.
There may be times the intended recipient opened the invitation link while logged in as another Vecta user. Since the link is tied to the recipient set by the invitee, other Vecta users are barred from using the link. Regardless, any user can request to access the drawing if they found the invitation link. As the link creator, you will receive the request in both email and Vecta notification.
- If you choose to accept the request, the invitation link will be tied to the requester instead. The requester can then use the link to access the drawing. Once used, the invitation link can't be reused again.
- Choose to reject or ignore the request, no changes will be made to the invitation link.
Share with a link
If you wish to share your drawing to the general public, use the public link. You can toggle the availability of the public link by clicking on the Get share link option at the top of the Share dialog. Once clicked, a hidden Who can access section will appear. Click on the Copy link to copy the given link.
Depending on which option you choose in the dropdown, the general public will have different access to your drawing. Each option is explained below:
- Anyone with this link can edit this drawing
- Everyone, logged in or not, will be able to open your drawing and edit it.
- Anyone with this link can view this drawing
- Everyone, logged in or not, will be able to open your drawing and view it.
- However, logged in Vecta users with Edit and share or Owner permission will be able to edit it.
- Only invited users can access this drawing
- Only logged in Vecta users with access to this drawing can open it.
- Choosing this option removes the public link and thus, the general public will no longer be able to access your drawing.
This feature can be used along with Share with emails.
Change your other Vecta user's permission through the Who has access dialog or remove their access from the drawing. Setting another user's permission as Owner can be done in this dialog as well. Your drawing permission affects what choices is being shown to you in the dropdown. This is further explained below:
- Vecta users with Owner permission can do the following:
- Set another sharee's permission as Owner, Edit and share or View only.
- Remove another sharee, including those with Owner permission.
- Vecta users with Edit and share permission can do the following:
- Set another sharee's permission as Edit and share or View only.
- Removing another sharee is not possible.
- Vecta users with View only permission are not able to change others' permission, nor remove another.
Others' permission can be changed, but you can't change your own permission in the drawing.
Drawings shared through Share with emails and Share with a link will always show the latest updates to the drawing. To show the drawing at a specific update, use the Publish drawing dialog. The drawing published through this option is not editable, but it is always readily available to all viewers publicly.
To access the Publish drawing dialog, go to the Share menu in the editor, then select Publish drawing. Your drawing must fulfill the following conditions before it can be published:
- The drawing is Public.
- There must be shapes in the drawing.
The drawing must be made public to let social media scrappers retrieve a preview of your drawing when it is shared on their site. A dialog will pop up to request your consent to set your drawing to public when you publish for the first time. Once published, viewers will only see the state of the drawing at the time you publish it.
You can update the published drawing by clicking on Publish Changes, or remove the published drawing by clicking on Remove Publishing. Once removed, viewers will no longer be able to view your published drawing.
Share to social media
You can share your drawing on popular social media sites such as Facebook, Twitter, Reddit and Slack. Go to the Share menu at the top of your editor, and choose your preferred site from the dropdown. The display of your shared drawing may differ across respective sites. To share on social media sites, the drawing must be made Public. This is to let viewers open your drawing without being barred, as well as to allow scrappers to retrieve a preview of your drawing.
Sharing to Facebook, Twitter and Reddit only requires you to log in in these sites. Slack, however, requires you to do the following steps before you are able to share to the channel.
Share to Slack
Vecta must be integrated with Slack before you are able to share drawings to your Slack team. To begin, follow these steps;
- Go to dashboard and look for the Integrations section in the left navigation bar. Click on Add to Slack. (If you have previously integrated before, Add to Slack will show as Settings.)
- Go through Slack's authentication process and click Authorize when asked to grant Vecta permission. You will then be redirected back to Vecta.
- If all goes well and integration is a success*, you will then be redirected back to the dashboard. You will also receive a message from our Vecta bot in Slack.
*If the integration failed, please retry the integration flow again. If the error persists, please contact [email protected] with a screenshot of the error.
You can now begin sharing drawings to your Slack team! Click on the Share menu, then choose Share to Slack. This will open up the Slack Channels dialog with a list of viable channels, including your group chats. Choose one of these channels and click Share.
However, Slack integration is only scoped to the team it is approved in. In order to share Vecta drawings to another team, you will need to integrate Vecta again with the said team.
- Go to dashboard again. You will notice the Add to Slack option is now Settings. Click on it to open the Slack Teams dialog.
- Click on Add Slack Team to undergo the same authentication process from Slack. Choose the team you wish to integrate with Vecta, and click Authorize when asked to grant Vecta permission.
- If all goes well, you will be redirected back to the dashboard. Open the Slack Teams dialog again, and check to see for an extra team in the list.
You can remove any Slack teams you have previously integrated with Vecta as well.
- Open up Slack Teams dialog from the dashboard, and click Remove for the team you wish to boot out.
- Next, go to this address; https://[your-Slack-team-name].slack.com/apps/manage and remove Vecta from the team's app list.
The 2 steps above ensures that both sides, Vecta and Slack, no longer has any details of the integration in hand.
This integration, which allows you to share drawings to Slack channels, is not the same as the Slack team integration Vecta has.