Back to Help
Topics

Create and manage teams

Understanding team permissions

There are three types of team permissions; Owner, Edit and share, and View only. Each of these permission levels give different accessibility to the team's features, and are inherited by the drawings and folders you create in the team. For example, you invited Ben and Mary into the team and grant them Edit and share permissions. Both invitee accepted the invite. You then create a folder and a drawing in the team. Both the folder and drawing is automatically shared to Ben and Mary with them having Edit and share permission to these items.

Teammates see the same team view
Teammates see the same team view

Owner permission is similar to having an administrator access. Not only do you own the team, you control who gets to come in and go out of the team. You can even move drawings and stencils out of the team.

Edit and share permission are for members who are given some leeway to edit and share drawings in the team.

View only permission are for those who wants to let viewers into the team and not have access to change anything. It is a great way to invite users to view your portfolio without the need of inviting them to each of your drawings.

Actions permissible in team based on member's permission level
Actions permissible in team based on member's permission level

Create team

You can create a team by clicking on the + icon right above the team list on the dashboard's left navigation bar. Inviting teammates during team creation is optional.

The team creator is automatically a team owner.
The team creator is automatically a team owner.

Invite a team member

On every team, there is a Members button at the very top bar in the dashboard. Click on it to bring up the Who has access dialog that lists all members in the team, including their name, email and permissions.

Who has access dialog. *These features will only appear to team owners.
Who has access dialog. *These features will only appear to team owners.

Use the dropdown to change the member's permission, or remove them from the team. You can't change your own permission. Click on Invite people to switch to the Invite member dialog. Add new members in this dialog!

Invite member dialog
Invite member dialog

Enter the email addresses you wish to invite with commas to separate them and click OK to send the invitations. Invitees that accepted your team invitation will be shown immediately in the Who has access dialog.

Leave or delete a team

Leave a team by clicking on the menu next to the team name in the left navigation bar.
Leave a team by clicking on the menu next to the team name in the left navigation bar.

Depending on your permission in the team, leaving a team has different outcomes. If you have Edit and share or View only permission, leaving a team removes your access to the team. This includes every drawing, folders and stencils in the team. If you leave the team as a member with Owner permission, two different outcomes can happen.

  • The team has 2 members with Owner permission, including you. Leaving the team is similar to leaving as a member with non-owner permission, whereby your access to the team is removed.
  • The team only has 1 Owner, which is you. Leaving the team removes all non-owner members from the team. The team is then trashed. You can then go to the Trash section to restore or delete the team.

Vecta keeps teams in Trash for 30 days (freemium users) before deleting them entirely. Paid users get to keep their teams for 90 days.

Last updated August 4, 2018