Using stencils and symbols

Vecta contains thousands of symbols that you can use and reuse to make amazing diagrams, without much work. In addition, you can create stencils of your own or create them for the entire team, so your team mates can reuse symbols for maximum productivity.

Stencils and symbols in Vecta
Stencils and symbols in Vecta

Opening and using a stencil

To open and use a stencil:

  • Click on the stencil menu, and select a stencil
Vecta's stencil menu
Vecta's stencil menu

Once a stencil is opened, simply drag and drop symbols onto drawing.

 See also 

Creating a new stencil

To create a new stencil:

  • Click on the stencil menu, then click on New

Understanding stencil permissions

Stencil permissions always follow drawing permissions. For example, if a stencil is created on a personal drawing at Home, then the stencil will be a personal stencil.

If a stencil is created on a Team drawing, then the stencil will be a team stencil, to be shared by the entire team.

Personal stencils can only be opened and edited by you, while team stencils can be opened and edited by the entire team.

Using personal stencils on teams

When you drop a symbol from a personal stencil to a team drawing, the symbol is automatically saved on the drawing.

Your team mates will still be able to see (and edit) your symbol on the team drawing, even though they do not have access to your personal stencil.

Personal stencils can only be modified by you, while team stencils can be modified by the entire team.

Using team stencils on personal drawing

Usage of team stencils are only allowed on team drawings and not on personal drawings.

Editing stencil properties

The Edit stencil menu
The Edit stencil menu

To edit stencil:

  • Click on the Edit Stencil menu, then select Edit stencil
Edit stencil dialog
Edit stencil dialog

Rename the stencil, add a description or edit the stencil category using the Edit stencil dialog.

If a stencil has a category, it will be listed under their respective category on the Stencil menu. Different stencils can have the same category, or a stencil can be in more than one category.

Closing a stencil

To close a stencil:

  • Click on the Edit stencil menu, then select Close

Closing a stencil merely removes the stencil from your view on this drawing, where you can select to open it again at any time.

Deleting a stencil

To delete a stencil:

  • Click on the Edit stencil menu, then select Delete

Deleting a stencil permanently removes the stencil from your dashboard, and is an irreversible action. Therefore, you will be prompted to confirm the stencil deletion.

If you delete a Team stencil, the stencil will also be permanently removed from the team.

Moving stencils

To move a stencil:

  • Go to dashboard, scroll to the bottom, and click on Stencils
  • Then select a stencil and click on the Move button, and select a destination
Moving a stencil
Moving a stencil

Moving a personal stencil to a team

If you move a personal stencil to a team, the team owners becomes the new owner of the stencil.

Moving a team stencil out as a personal stencil

Only team owners can move team stencils out from a team, to their personal stencil.

Sharing stencils

If you are the owner of a team stencil, you can select to share the stencil to another team.

To share a stencil:

  • Click on the Edit stencil menu, then on Share stencil

Using symbols

To use a symbol:

  • Open a stencil and simply drag and drop to your drawing
Simply drag and drop to use symbols
Simply drag and drop to use symbols

Creating a new symbol

To create a new symbol:

  • Drag and drop one or more shapes onto a stencil
Drag and drop onto stencil to create a new symbol
Drag and drop onto stencil to create a new symbol

Editing a symbol

Edit symbol menu
Edit symbol menu

To edit a symbol:

  • Right click on a symbol and select Edit symbol
Edit symbol dialog
Edit symbol dialog

You can change the name of the symbol, enter description or tags, separated by commas. Tags are keywords assigned to symbols to enable easier searching.

Editing a symbol icon

To edit a symbol icon:

  • Right click on a symbol and select Edit icon

Refreshing a symbol

Once icon editing is completed, refresh a symbol to view the latest changes.

To refresh a symbol:

  • Right click on a symbol and select Refresh

Deleting a symbol

To delete a symbol:

  • Right click on a symbol and select Delete

or

  • Click on a symbol and press the Delete key

Note that deleting a symbol is a non reversible action.

Arranging symbols in a stencil

To rearrange symbols:

  • Simply drag and drop to the required position
Drag and drop symbols to arrange them
Drag and drop symbols to arrange them

Finding symbols

To find symbols:

  • Click on Find symbols and type away
Finding symbols with results
Finding symbols with results

To save the search results as your own stencil, click on the Save icon.