You can find Plugins readily available in the tab next to Stencil in your editor.
Click on the Plugin tab, and you will find 3 plugin sections in the list.
- Personal plugins. Plugins under this section belongs to you. You can edit, delete, or share the plugins to another team in this section.
- Team plugins. This section is only available in a drawing under a team. All plugins in this section belongs to the team. You can edit, delete, or share the plugins from this section to another team only if you have Owner or Edit and share permission in said team.
- Public plugins. Public plugins made available to you by Vecta can be found here. You cannot edit or share plugins from this section.
Previously closed and public plugins by Vecta can be found in this menu. Public plugins can be found at the top of the list, whereas team or personal plugins are added to the bottom of the list. Click on either one of the plugins to add them to their specific sections. For example, click on a personal plugin and you will find it in Personal plugins section.
Create a plugin
Choose one of the 2 sections; Personal or Team plugins, and click on the dot menu. Choose New plugin from the dropdown. Once created, the plugin cannot be removed from their respective sections.
Edit and run a plugin
You can edit any plugin you have ownership to. To edit the plugin, right click on the plugin and choose Edit Script. Doing so will open a code editor on a new tab in your browser. Look to the top right of your code editor and you will find Run and Save buttons.
- Click on Run to run the plugin in the drawing it was opened from.
- Click on Save to save your changes. You will need to refresh your drawing to get the latest changes.
You can run the plugin from the editor as well. Hover over a plugin and click to run it.
If you wish to run the plugin without being prompted to, use the Auto run script option. Right click on a plugin, and choose Auto run script. This option also ensures that the plugin auto-runs even after refreshing the drawing. You can stop the plugin from running by right clicking the plugin in the Auto run plugins section, and select Stop script in the dropdown.
Sharing a plugin across teams
Make a plugin accessible to other teams by sharing them. Only Owners and members with Edit and share permission are able to share to another team. Likewise, they must have Owner or Edit and share permission in the team they wish to share the plugin to.
Right click on a plugin, then choose Share plugin from the dropdown. A dialog will pop up with a list of teams you can share the plugin to. Once shared, the team the plugin was shared to will be able to find the plugin under the Team plugins section. While they can use the shared plugin, they will not be able to edit or share it. You can remove the team's access to the plugin by unchecking the team's box.
Delete a plugin
Delete a plugin by right clicking on the plugin, and choose Delete plugin from the dropdown. You can only delete plugins you have ownership to. Once deleted, the plugin is removed permanently.
All actions mentioned here can be found by right clicking on the plugin.
- Edit your plugin description, name or add a category through the Edit plugin option. Adding a category will move the plugin into a sub-menu under the plugin menu.
- To remove the plugin from the section, choose Close plugin. The plugin will be moved back to the plugin menu, so you can open it at any time.
- Modify your plugin icon to make it recognizable through Edit icon. Clicking on this option will open an icon editor on a new tab.
- You can toggle the plugin names by clicking on the section's dot menu, and selecting Hide/Show plugin names.